Committee Structure

In line with the provisions of its Convention, the organisation operates through a highly developed committee structure which makes it possible to involve experienced intellectuals, professionals, and stakeholders in the decision-making process. The hierarchy of authority within the system also ensures effective control through checks and balances in the exercise of power and execution of functions.


Under the new Convention signed in 1982, Council consists of 34 members, representing the governments, universities, secondary schools, and other interest groups in the five member countries. It is the highest policy-making body of the organisation with authority over all committees and national offices in the five member countries. The chairmanship of Council rotates every three years among member countries. The current Chairman is Professor Ato Essuman of Ghana.


The Council functions through committees which include:

The International Administrative and Finance Committee, which oversees the financial and administrative matters of the Council as a whole. It acts on behalf of Council in-between main Council meetings;

The International Examinations Committee, which deals with all matters relating to examinations;

The International Appointments Committee, which handles the appointments, promotions and discipline of the international staff (Registrar Cadre) of the Council;

The International Tenders Board, which considers and awards all international tenders for the Council; and

The National Committee, which is the highest policy-making body of the Council in each member country. The National Committee has its own sub-committees, such as the National Examinations Committee, National Appointments Committee, National Administrative & Finance Committee, and National Tenders Board.